PDA

View Full Version : new member intro

Adrian Hoskins
30-Mar-2009, 02:57 AM
Hi

This is just to introduce myself as a new contributor / member.

I'm Adrian Hoskins from England.

I've got about 40 years experience as a field entomologist and my website www.learnaboutbutterflies.com is now in its 3rd year of operation. It aims to give a very thorough coverage of butterfly / moth biology, taxonomy, ecology, photography and many other related subjects. It currently runs to over 600 pages and about 1500 photographs, mostly taken by myself, but expanding to include work by other photographers.

It deals with butterflies and moths from all over the world, but at the moment there is a strong emphasis on the Amazon and Andeas fauna, and total coverage of British fauna. I lead butterfly-watching holidays to places including Brazil, Ecuador, Costa Rica, Peru, Ghana; and have led trips to Malaysia twice.

I will be revisting Malaysia this year with the aim of getting lots of photographs and ecological information so that I can expand the Malaysia / Borneo section of my website. Khew has suggested that I write up something about my experiences in Malaysia, and I'll be glad to do so; also to participate in the forums.

The standard of photography on Butterfies of Singapore is very impressive, especially the life history shots ova / larvae / pupae, and it would be nice to be able to use some of these on my website; and in exchange I would gladly let my Malaysia / Oriental species shots be used on Butterflies of Singapore. I've already added a link to BOS on my site.

As well as my own website I am involved with the www.ukbutterflies.co.uk site, and I participate in the www.neotropicalbutterflies.com forums, helping people to identify Amazonian and Andean butterflies. I find this helps me brush up my own ID skills greatly ! I'm also in regular contact with many taxonomists around the world, who assist me with difficult IDs.