PDA

View Full Version : How to Start a Butterfly Garden?

t0tor0
11-Feb-2009, 04:47 PM
hi guys,

i am planning to start a butterfly garden. i am totally new to this. can anyone help me or recommend some good reading sites/books?

thanks

Blue Nawab
11-Feb-2009, 09:43 PM
Hi,
You probably need to know which area you are at and what are the butterfly species around your area, then you can decide on the host plants to get and the nectar plants. Take a look at Alexander Hospital's Butterfly Garden or Oh's Farm Butterfly Lodge or even the Butterfly Trail at the Zoo near the Ah Meng Restaurant or even Pulau Ubin's Butterfly Hill. Can also visit the Sentosa Butterfly Garden to have an idea before you plan what butterflies to attract to your garden. Oh's Farm's Nancy is pretty helpful in giving you some advice if you need and some host plants too, Rosalind Tan from AH is very willing to share her experience...Hope that helps...a bit...;P

crappyclay
13-Feb-2009, 01:54 AM
Well... here's a list of plants i've tried and they are quite good...

Try bloodflower aka asclepias curassavica (great nectar plant and hostplant for plain tigers)- hua hng at bah soon pah

calotropis gigantea aka crown flower for the plain tigers hostplant- hortpark (be sure u ask permission if u want cuttings)

heliotropium indicum (for the tigers and crows)- seeds can be obtained easily, check AH?

cordia (they've got them at AH, you could ask if rosalind could spare u some cuttings, they root very easily)- AH

snakeweed aka stachytarpheta mutabilis or stachytarpheta indica (very gd nectar plant, swallowtails, tigers and crows love these to bits!)- AH have the blue ones... if u want the pink ones let me know!

duranta erecta, albatross and other butts also love this! -most garden centres have these

Panama rose aka Rondeletia leucophylla (nectar plant)- hua hng

Vinca aka periwinkles (favoured by papilios)- virtually lotsa places have these... get the original pink flowered ones if possible