PDA

View Full Version : Coon?

horace2264
17-Jan-2008, 07:53 PM
Shot this brown skipper in WWE the other day.
My ID after comparing with the BC checklist is that this is the Coon.
If confirmed, then this is a +1 for me.

Common Mime
17-Jan-2008, 08:03 PM
I think you got a +1, Horace! But I am no expert in ID.

Checked the checklist and find this shot taken by Steven Wee. The markings on both wings are sort of different from the rest?

Any comment?

http://b-pals.com/butts/photo1/227_1129380510.jpg

Commander
17-Jan-2008, 08:13 PM
Yes, Horace. This is a Coon. The shape of the wings, the body of the butt and the antennae are consistent with the Coon. The three spots near the forewing apex are also another indicator, as are the "dusting" on the hindwings. The hindwing spots are quite variable, and in some specimens that I've seen ther spots are not as distinct than others.

Congrats on your +1 :cheers:

Painted Jezebel
17-Jan-2008, 09:56 PM
Interesting! I have a large number of photos of this species, and none have those underside forewing subapical spots. Neither do they have the marginal light bands!

horace2264
17-Jan-2008, 10:29 PM
Thanks, Chee Ming and Khew for the confirmation. :cheers:

kaleshs2002in
08-Jun-2008, 02:27 PM
This is Forest Hopper Arnetta jama not Coon Psolos
cheers!

Cruiser
08-Jun-2008, 03:18 PM
Hi Dr Kalesh,

Could you highlight the key features/differences between these two to be sure.

thanks in advance.

kaleshs2002in
08-Jun-2008, 09:17 PM
Hi Dr Kalesh,

Could you highlight the key features/differences between these two to be sure.

thanks in advance.

Easiest way is to see the Forewing tips.if they diverge from each other then its coon.The wings are more produced in coon.Underside hue is brown with a violetish tinge with some pale brown areas.
In Foresthopper the underside is blakish brown with grey scales occationally also with 3 apical spots and the wingtips dont diverge from each other.
cheers!

Commander
08-Jun-2008, 09:25 PM