View Full Version : Today's trip to the hills

Painted Jezebel
11-Feb-2011, 04:57 PM
I went up in the hope of seeing another S. seliga and a couple of other rare montane species. No luck in that respect, but I did find some unusual ones, though they were not cooperative re photos.:thumbsdow

Nevertheless, I think I may have found a +1.

1) Is this Pantaporia paraka paraka? I have no experience with this species. I am hoping for a 'Yes', please!:grin2:

2&3) Another pesky Caltoris species. Any ideas as to which one?

4) Just because I like the different pose, which shows up the markings nicely, Hypolimas bolina jacintha.

5) Is this Jamides pura?

Psyche
12-Feb-2011, 06:20 PM
1, Yes , this is a female P. paraka paraka. The only spp. with the 2 submarginal bands angled in at space 3 on the forewing.

I have thought Aaron would have been quick off the mark to ID this one.

2. What luck that you got an upper shot as well. I still have trouble telling a Caltoris from a Baoris, but I know all Baoris have dark bodies, so this is a Caltoris.

Salient features : full complement of spots in space 1b, 2, 3, 4, a set of three in space 6,7, & 8, & two big cell spots.Underside hindwing with an ochreous overlay. Female.

The 3 spp. with 2 prominent cell spots are:
C. brunnea is out because its underside hindwing is deep purple brown.
C. cahira is out because its underside is very dark chocolate brown.
C. bromus fits the bill because its underside hindwing is shaded ochreous. The female will also have a full complement of spots as that of the brunnea female ( pl. 60/23 )

Two other with two cell spots sometimes (though one will be very small) can be eliminated thus ; C. cormasa, purple brown underside hindwing. and C. sirius, very narrow spots in spaces 2 & 3.

5 Jamides celeno female
Only in J. celeno are the striae consistently ( always ? ) out of alignment. The female is also unique in having very rounded forewings compare to its congener.

TL Seow:cheers:

Painted Jezebel