PDA

View Full Version : Cat ID Assistance please

cho-cho-san
18-Mar-2008, 02:03 AM
Shot this in my garden today. The cat was found crawling on a wall. I released it onto a nearby plant and hoped it could return to its food plant.

I'm not very good with ID-ing caterpillars, so just wondering if any of the experts could help out.
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y230/tora-tora/B%20Circle/600_P1020788.jpg

cho-cho-san
18-Mar-2008, 10:44 AM
I have managed to find the food plant this morning.
It is the "Desert-Rose" (Adenium Obesum). The cat has a voracious appetite as it "walloped" all the leaves and shoots of the plant. The Adenium Obesum is now in a baldy state.

cho-cho-san
18-Mar-2008, 11:43 PM
Spent this afternoon Googling and realised that this is a cat of the Oleander Hawkmoth (Deilephila nerii or Daphnis nerii).

Grateful if Mod could shift this thread to "Moth Photography" ?
Thank you, (embarassed)

benetay
19-Mar-2008, 12:04 AM
Thats a very nice looking cat, glad that you have got the ID!

Cheers!

cho-cho-san
19-Mar-2008, 12:21 AM
Thank you benetay.

Glad to learn something new today.

Cheers !

atronox
19-Mar-2008, 01:23 AM
Spent this afternoon Googling and realised that this is a cat of the Oleander Hawkmoth (Deilephila nerii or Daphnis nerii).

Grateful if Mod could shift this thread to "Moth Photography" ?
Thank you, (embarassed)

Yup, its Daphnis nerii. Deilephila is the elephant hawkmoth (deilephila elpenor).

Painted Jezebel
19-Mar-2008, 09:11 AM
I had thought that the cat was Daphnis nerii, but the absence of the blue eye-spots just behind the head made me wonder.

As this is a moth, perhaps this thread could be transferred to that forum, and then Roger may be able to advise the frequency of these 'blind' cats as compared the the blue-spotted ones.

cho-cho-san
19-Mar-2008, 06:48 PM
I had thought that the cat was Daphnis nerii, but the absence of the blue eye-spots just behind the head made me wonder.